R5 13 Fab Singles

Take Me Out…

 

- Advertisement -

Photos by John O’Donnell

 

ONLY IF YOU WANT AN INTRO

Birds do it, bees do it, even CPAs do it. You don’t have to be an Einstein to know that a two-some is more fun than a one-some (most of the time). But sometimes everybody needs a little help mastering the equation of romance.

 

David Palaia

Age: 46

Town: White Plains

- Partner Content -

Occupation: Plastic surgeon

Ideal date: A nice casual stroll on the beach at sunset

Hobbies: I’m a sculptor, working in clay and wood. I also golf and ride bikes.

Last book read: The Da Vinci Code. I learned a lot of neat factual information and came to realize that women rule.

Favorite food: Italian.

- Advertisement -

What would friends say about you: I’m a little bit hard to get to know, but a great guy once you do.

 

Lindsay Fredricks

Age: 28

Town: Stamford, CT

Occupation: Public relations director

Hobbies: I just starting knitting and am currently working on the world’s longest scarf!

Last book read: Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris.

Favorite food: Thanksgiving dinner—there are so many options, yet it is a simple meal and such a laid-back day.

Quirkiest habit: I am always doing more than one thing at a time. For example, I’ll watch a movie and read a book at the same time. I think     multi-tasking is just in my nature.

What would friends say about you: I’m funny, smart, and genuine—at least they better say those things!

What I’m looking for: Someone who can make me laugh.

 

Joseph Charles Becerra

Age: 40

Town: Bedford

Occupation: Investigator, New York State Police

Ideal date: I prefer small intimate restaurants and lounges rather than loud clubs and bars. I enjoy interesting conversation, good food, and fine wine. My favorite places in Westchester include Café Antico in Mt Kisco, 121 Restaurant & Bar in North Salem, and Globe Bar & Grill in Larchmont.

Hobbies: Skiing, biking, blading, golf, fishing. I also enjoy hiking with my two labradors.

Last book read: The Kennedy Curse. And I thought I knew some dysfunctional families.

Favorite food: Seafood paella. My mom is from Spain, and when she wants all her boys home for dinner, all she has to do is make paella.

Tell us a story: I’m a hostage/crisis negotiator for the State Police, and while I was at my 20th reunion at Stepinac High School in White Plains, my pager went off. I had to go to Somers where a man was barricaded in his house with a gun. Fortunately, he surrendered. When I got back to the reunion, one of my fellow classmates said to me, “Man, you were in the bathroom a long time.”

 

Nancy Bender

Age: 30-something

Town: A rivertown

Occupation: Professional vocalist/singing coach

Hobbies: Cooking and entertaining, listening to music, going to movies, flea markets, and antique stores, dancing, watching Yankees baseball, to name a few.

Quirkiest habit: Who me?

What friends say: I’m loyal, honest, dependable, down-to-earth, fun, serious, talented, and stubborn.

What I’m looking for: I’m just waiting for that right someone to come and rock my world. Where are you?

 

Anthony Bambace

Age: 38

Town: Riverdale (hopes to return to his “Westchester roots soon”)

Occupation: Pharmacy owner

Hobbies: Jogging, biking, basketball; also fine dining and a movie now and then.

Last book read: The Last Season, by Phil Jackson, the story of the Los Angeles Lakers.

Favorite food: Sushi, it fills a craving.

What I’m looking for: Someone who is affectionate, friendly, and knows what she wants.

 

Tricia Gabberty

Age: 40-something

Town: Northern Westchester

Occupation: Marketing executive

Ideal date: A quick connection with a person, where the conversation flows and the sense of humor is compatible; a comfortable restaurant with good food is a bonus.

Worst date: An online date that I met at a Starbucks. He stood in front of me on line, jingled the change in his pocket and said, “I am in-between jobs right now. You are on your own for whatever it is you are drinking.” Wrong! He was on his own. I left!

Hobbies: Beach, golf, tennis, in that order.

Last book read: Regarding Henry. A quick beach read, upbeat-fluff, and funny.

Favorite food: Foie gras and Champagne. But I’m always up for a good peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

 

Greg Werlinich

Age: 40

Town: Rye Brook

Occupation: Financial asset manager

Hobbies: I am a competitive Masters swimmer, competing in the 40 to 44 age group. I also love to golf and ski.

Favorite food: Well-aged steaks and good pasta dishes.

Your quirkiest habit: I crack my knuckles too much.

What would friends say: I’m a very good father to my three children and that they can’t believe I get up at 5 am to swim.

 

Bayard Templeton

Age: 24

Town: Greenwich, CT (grew up in Bronxville)

Occupation: Middle school history teacher

Ideal date: A nice dinner in Manhattan followed by a Broadway musical that we both want to see. Ice cream  afterwards is a must.

Hobbies:  Three Bs—board games, baseball (Go Mets!), and Broadway.

Last book read: Amalee by folk singer Dar Williams. It made me think about how hard it is to be a middle schooler, since you start to have such different needs and such big ideas, but have so little choice as to how you spend your time.

Favorite food: Black-ink linguini with shrimp and red bell peppers at Brio in Manhattan.

Quirkiest habit: I can’t stand listening to the same song or CD more than once a day because I don’t want a good song to get ruined or overplayed.

 

Lydia Antoncic

Age: 34

Town: New Rochelle

Occupation: Attorney/animal welfare advocate

Ideal date: A weekend at a snug and romantic B&B, with Champagne and a fireplace.

Worst date: A guy who spent the first hour of our brunch date convincing me he was “practically vegan,” and then proceeded to order eggs, bacon, and cheese!

Hobbies: Anything athletic—I’m quite a gym rat and practically live at Equinox in Scarsdale.

Last book eadr: The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell. It’s all about how to start a social or marketing epidemic.

Favorite food: I’m a vegetarian and health food junkie so things like sautéed kale and flax seed muffins really get me excited, preferably accompanied by a full-bodied red wine.

Quirkiest habit: On weekends, I have been known to visit my local bagel store wearing pajamas under my winter coat.

What are you looking for: Someone who is willing to embrace my son and my cat

and dog.

 

Shaun Eli Breidbart

Age: 43

Town: Pelham

Occupations: Banker and stand-up comedian

Ideal date: Someone so smart that she makes me start to question some of my own beliefs.

Hobbies: I work out almost every day, usually rowing (I have my own scull), but I also run and bicycle frequently. I’m a licensed pilot, and I fly a couple of times a month when the weather cooperates. And I like to cook and to learn more about food and wine.

Last book read: Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress by Susan Jane Gilman. I wouldn’t think that a woman writing about her childhood and choice of a wedding dress would hold my interest, but I couldn’t put the book down.

Favorite food: Pizza. It has the added benefit of being readily available, and it goes really well with Champagne, my favorite beverage.

Quirkiest habit: People I went to business school say that telling jokes in a comedy club for barely any money after a full day of working as a banker is a quirky habit. My comedian friends say that working all day in an office trying to turn a big pile of someone else’s money into a slightly bigger pile of someone else’s money is a quirky habit.

 

Deborah DeKoff

Age: 40-something

Town: Scarsdale

Occupation: Management consultant

Most unusual date: I had a blind date with a hedge fund manager, and while there was no great connection, I tried to make the most of it. I got the best stock recommendation ever!

Hobbies: Time spent with family and friends, working out, dining, traveling, reading, adventure, boating, and, of course, shopping.

Last book I read: The Power of Intention by Wayne Dyer.

Favorite food: Italian. (I’m half Italian and half Dutch.)

 

Rui Correia

Age: 33

Town: Bronxville

Occupation: Chef and owner of Oporto Restaurant in Hartsdale

Ideal date: Going out to a great restaurant (other than my own), then ending up with drinks at a trendy lounge where we can get to know each other.

Favorite Hobbies: I love to ski, work out, and travel. I was born and raised in Portugal, and I like to go back to my roots.

Last book you read: All I ever read is food magazines and FHM (For Him Magazine).

Favorite food: Sushi.

Your quirkiest habits: I’m a bit of a neat freak; my apartment is always spotless.

What are you looking for in a partner:  A really good friend.

 

 

Jennifer Gabrielle Pellicer

Age: 30

Town: Dobbs Ferry

Occupation: Middle/high school Spanish teacher

Ideal date: There is no such thing. With the right person I would be happy doing absolutely anything.

Last book read: Viajes de Cristobal Colon, based on the four voyages of Columbus during the 1500s. It’s fascinating.

Favorite food: Empanadas y Milanesas Argentinas. It makes me feel like I’m home.

Quirkiest habit: Singing, anytime and anywhere the mood strikes.

What I’m looking for: I am looking for a best friend who can wear a matching smile and join me in making fun-filled memories.

 

 

 

Our Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Forum is March 14!

Unveiled: A Boutique Bridal Brunch is February 25!

Our Best of Westchester Elimination Ballot is open through March 6!

Holiday flash sale ... subscribe and save 50%

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.