Westchester Country Club to Host Met Golf Writers National Awards Dinner

adobe stock//John Young

Dottie Pepper will be honored at the National Awards Dinner at Westchester Country Club, which raises funds for caddie scholarships.

The Metropolitan Golf Writers Association will honor golf broadcaster and LPGA star Dottie Pepper at its 70th National Awards Dinner. The winner of 17 tour titles and CBS Sports reporter will receive the MGWA’s coveted Gold Tee on June 21 at Westchester Country Club.

“Dottie’s accomplishments on the golf course place her among the game’s elite, but her positive influence outside the ropes is just as impressive,” says MGWA President Brian Crowell. “She’s a broadcaster, an author, a public speaker…an outstanding ambassador for golf in so many ways.  Dottie is a Major Champion who continues to make a major impact in our sport. The MGWA is proud to add Dottie Pepper to our distinguished list of Gold Tee Award winners.”

national awards dinner
photo courtesy of Metropolitan Golf Writers Association

The Gold Tee Award, the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association’s highest honor, is presented to an individual whose career achievements exemplify the best spirit and traditions of the sport of golf.  The Gold Tee has been awarded to such luminaries as Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Billy Casper, Nancy Lopez, Tom Watson, Phil Mickelson, and Annika Sorenstam. Butch Harmon was honored in 2021.

- Advertisement -

Pepper headlines a slate of award winners that has made the MGWA annual dinner the New York metro area’s largest and most important golf social event. It’s an evening of fun and moving stories from the highest reaches of the sport. All proceeds from the dinner benefit the met-area caddie scholarship funds, the MGA Foundation, and the Dave Marr Sports Journalism Scholarship at Columbia University endowed by the MGWA.

national awards dinner
photo courtesy of Metropolitan Golf Writers Association

Mike Davis, former CEO of the USGA, will receive the Paul Dillon Distinguished Service Award, Mark Cannizzaro of the NY Post the Lincoln Werden Golf Journalism Award, and radio host and philanthropist Ann Liguori the association’s Winnie Palmer Award. Other award winners include Pete Jordan (Mary Bea Porter Award), Hempstead Golf & Country Club (Club of the Year Award), and Pete Kowalski (Dave Anderson Spotlight Award).

Limited seats are available for the June 21 event.

Related: Read up on the Latest Golf News in Westchester

Our Healthcare Heroes Awards event takes place on May 9!

Our Westchester Home Builders Awards take place on April 4!

Our Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Forum is March 14!

Unveiled: A Boutique Bridal Brunch is February 25!

Our Best of Westchester Elimination Ballot is open through March 6!

Holiday flash sale ... subscribe and save 50%

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.